Creamy Fennel-Carrot-Orange Soup

IMG_7543Happy #SoupySunday 😀 after a very busy weekend meeting friends and enjoying the pre-summer weather 😀 I had a new soup on my weekly soupy day event 😀 This time for dinner using my beloved veg – fennel 😀 I´m a big fennel lover 😀 I really love the taste and I like to create meals using it 😉 I already have fennel soup recipe on my blog – LINK – but this time I created a more fruity and summer-like version 😀 my CREAMY FENNEL-CARROT-ORANGE SOUP 😀 a warm and creamy soup but fresh and fruity 😀 The perfect soup for summer evenings 😀 I used the orange I got yesterday at the STREET WORKOUT event 😀 a super yummy, organic orange ❤ I´ve never added orange juice into my soup before but now I really ask myself why I haven´t tried it already! It tasted so incredibly delicate and fruity and it pairs really well with fennel and carrots! Don´t believe me? Try for yourself 😉

2 serves


You need : 

  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp olive oil or water for water sauté
  • 4-6 carrots, sliced/chopped
  • 1-2 fennel bulbs, chopped
  • 2-3 cups water
  • 1 tbs veg stock powder
  • 1 tbs fennel seeds
  • Spices, herbs of choice
  • Juice of 1 orange
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Start by preparing the vegetables before you heat oil/water in a pan over medium heat, add onion and cook until tender and fragrant, for about a few minutes. Then, add in the vegetables (carrots and fennel), roast for a few minutes. Next pour in the water with the veg stock powder and fennel seeds and cook for about 15-20 minutes or until the vegetables are soft and tender. Add orange juice, season with spices and herbs of choice and purée the soup using a stick blender (or blend in your blender/food processor) until desired consistency. Heat the soup again if needed, add salt and pepper as needed to taste.


Serve & Enjoy 😀

 

Leave a Reply

