EDITED: Coconut Rice Recipes (recipes by @naturallysassy)

 Happy #SassySaturday 😀

Today I re-upload a post a wrote in July 2015 bc I edited it 😉 I added a NEW coconut rice recipe by @naturally.sassy and wanted to keep them altogether 😀 Scroll down for the new one 😉

I will also add further coconut rice recipes as soon as I try out new idea and versions 😀

Enjoy 😀


Healthy Coconut Rice & Sweet Veggie Dish

IMG_20150725_134603

25.07.2015; #SassySaturday over here so I continue with one of Saskia´s recipes for lunch 😀 I prepared HEALTHY COCONUT RICE & SWEET VEGGIE DISH for me and my mum 😀 I had a big crave for rice so I listened to that inner voice and gave my body what it wants. I have many different types at home bc I always love to try various 🙂 Today I used wild red rice 😀 For the 1st time ever and I think I like it 😀 In generel, I really prefer wild and brown rice types! Healthy nut Annabelle 😉 Again, I found the recipe on http://www.hipandhealthy.com 😀 where I found a lot of her stuff and also other things lately 😀 An amazing page with great recipes 😀 during the next days I plan to recreate some of their recipes like I always do 😀 (BTW never forget! some smoothies, (N)IceCream, and some other things are in my “update-every-now-and-then-as-soon-as-I-do-a-new-version” posts 😉 just in case you forget that fact! So if you really want to stay tuned to my creation you need to scroll through my recipe categories a little 😛 or – I always talk about new versions on my Instagram pages 🙂 and on my main there is also a little more about moi if you like to see that too xD )

The lunch was pretty fine 😀 I like the combo of wild rice and coconut together with veggies 😉 Def something to try out more often 🙂

2 serves

You need :

  • 1 cup brown rice (natural rice)
  • 200ml (1/2 can) canned coconut milk
  • 3/4 cup water (and some more water to add during cooking period)
  • 1 tsp ginger, minced
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 avocado, cubed
  • 1 – 2 sweet) potato(es) (I had normal, white potatoes today bc there were no sweet potatoes available :P)
  • 1 (red) bell pepper, chopped
  • Salt and pepper to taste

For the rice, cook the rice (follow the cooking instructions on the package – my rice took 40 minutes to cook and 10-20 min. to rest) in boiling water, bring to boil and simmer until the rice is cooked (add the coconut milk and ginger while simmer; together with some more water if needed). In the meantime, preheat the oven to 190°C and peal and cube the potatoes (don´t need to peal if you don´t want to), drizzle with some olive oil and and roast for about 25 minutes until done. Prepare/chop/cube the pepper and avocado. When everything’s cooked and done, mix all the food together in a bowl or on a plate and serve 🙂 You can eat it hot or cooled! 😉 I also added some coconut flakes and ginger while eating it 😛

IMG_20150725_134735

LINK : http://hipandhealthy.com/healthy-coconut-rice-sweet-veggie-dish/


Coconut Rice w/ Mango-Avocado Salsa (from Saskia´s cookbook)

  
30.04.2016; Heyo, the coconut rice recipe over here 😀 It´s again #SassySaturday and I wanted to prepare a new lunch dish 🙂 So I searched for it in Saskia´s cookbook – my beloved cookbook ❤ – and, tada 😀 I found this one : COCONUT RICE w/ MANGO-AVOCADO SALSA 😀 It sounded super yum and it was exactly what I was craving for. And – I also had the ingredients at home already 😀 Win-Win situation. It´s fruity and it´s filling 😀 A perfect spring/summer lunch/dinner 😀 and really easy to prepare. Especially the salsa is the bomb ❤ simple but super tasty and fruity 😀

  
Because I already tried a coconut rice recipe created by Sassy lady, I thought it would be a great thing to add the recipes together 😀 in one post so it´s easy to find 😀 bc it´s a nice and sweet coconut rice family over here 😀 Anyway, therefore I re-uploaded to prior post to add the new recipe 😀 And now-you saw it 😀

The sun is shining bright today 😀 and I´m going to have a great day 😀 Keep happy and positive 😀

3-4 serves

  

You need :

  • 3/4 cup brown rice (natural rice)
  • 1/2 can canned coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cups water (add more water during cooking period if needed)
  • 1 tsp ginger, minced
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Salt & pepper to taste as needed

Mango-Avocado Salsa 

  • 1 mango, pealed, stoned and diced
  • 1-2 avocados, pealed, stoned and diced
  • 1 red pepper, deseeded and chopped
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 handful fresh coriander, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes (Optional)

Heat the water in a pan, add the coconut milk, rice, ginger and lemon juice and some salt and pepper as needed. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for up to 30-40 minutes while stirring occasionally , until the rice is cooked (add more water if needed).

Meanwhile, make the salsa by adding all prepared salsa ingredients to a bowl and mixing together. Season with salt, pepper, spices of choice, herbs to taste.

  As soon as the rice is cooked, place the coconut rice in serving dishes and pour the salsa on top.Serve and Enjoy 😀

Leave a Reply

