AnnaBelle & the “Bar Project”

Bars, bars, bars, … I don´t know how long I´ve been planing to write about something like that but in the end I did it 😛

Hello and welcome to my blogpost about, guess what… bars (as if you did´t know after reading the title ;))! These little, yummy and portable quick snacks we all know 🙂 Before I took an interest in healthy lifestyle and later on veganism I just knew sugary chocolate bars, usual protein bars and cereal/granola/muesli bars. Things available in every “cookie-cutter” grocery store. When I was a child life was different. Definitely. If I would have known back then what I know now – I had rather cut the crap. During my childhood I lived my life believing in natural justice, …, and so on and I believed in advices from “knowing adults” like teachers, professionals and also experts I heard about in the media. The topic I´m talking about is nothing world-shattering – it´s just … muesli bars. But for me it´s something to write about 😉 I used to think that all muesli bars as well as protein bars are super healthy, I can eat as many as I like and, don´t sneer at me, I also thought that protein bars make me muscular, fit and sporty – I just have to eat them. I wasn´t sporty in my childhood – never! Taken all together – AnnaBelle lived a lie 😉 No big drama 😉

But I grew up, got interested in nutrition and health and started to understand the ingredient lists. It was sugar overload! Detective me found out that muesli bars available at grocery stores aren´t that healthy. No healthy snack – just sweets. Not what I expected when I was still a child but as an adult it all became a lot clearer to me. Anyway, what´s the point? I started to avoid these high-in-sugar bars. One day I ended up getting interested in healthier options more and more and a new journey in my life started – the “AnnaBelle, the baking/cooking fairy” thing 😛 and as a result – the “AnnaBelle, the veggie gal” lifestyle. I learned about new things I haven´t heard before, like raw fruit and nut bars as well as making bars at home. I´ve always been eager to learn so it became a great way to try out for me. I tried out many brands – organic ones, healthy ones, “not 100% healthy” ones, raw, … and so on – and I lost the fear of bars. Finally 😀 That´s a quick overview of this subject.

What´s the aim of this very weird and unorganised looking entry? I simply want to show some stuff I like 😀 Let me present you my favorite bar brands and flavors + I also like to show you some recipes for easy and quick, selfmade bars 😉 Wonderful options to take with you on the run 😀 Little snacks 2 Go every time you need it 😉 (As you can see – I try to keep the blogpost as short as possible…).

My favorite vegan bars (brands)

All flavors available in my city (as far as I know) 😛

Roo´Bars are my very, very favorite bars on this planet! They are 100% raw, gluten and soy free, non-gmo and organic. The bars consist of about 4 to 5 ingredients only, incl. superfoods, dried fruits and raw nuts but the main ingredient is always dried fruits 😀 no added sugar or artificial sweeteners. And in my view they are extremely delicious. I always have one with my in my bag in case I need a quick snack 😀 These bars are actually my biggest inspiration for creating my own 😀 My 3 favorite ones are Goji Berry, Liquorice Chili and Inca Berry 😀 but I love them all ❤

 

I already tried out some recipes from the Planet Organic homepage… then suddenly I noticed that some organic and vegan food stores started selling some of their products – also in Vienna 😀 And I love their stuff a lot. No matter if cookies, popcorn or, in today´s care, the bars 😀 there are 3 flavors of these raw and organic bars and all are + hemp protein (my favorite protein powder btw) 😀 3 energise bars 😀 and, guess what, I like them all 😀 My no.1 is Coconut-Barleygrass bc I love barley grass 😀

.

Lebepur is a German brand for organic, mostly regional superfood and health food products. Their stuff is available in many organic food stores. I absolutely like their powders so I was more than happy as I found out that a few stores also offer their 5 rawbars in Austria – Goji, Apple-Cinnamon, Wheatgrass-Chia, Aronia-Raspberry and Cacao. My favorite is the Wheatgrass-Chia one 😀 Raw bars are best ❤

 

I´m very new to Lifebars. I´ve heard about them long before I tried my 1st one. They are raw energy bars incl.high-quality whole ingredients, without any refined sugars, syrups or artificial sweeteners! Just like all the brands before – raw and gluten free and sweetened using dried fruits only. Absolutely natural 😀 Flavors are, for example, Cherry, Fig, Raw Chocolate, Brazil Nut, Coconut or Apricot… but my favorite is Lifebar PLUS – the greenest power available 😀

  • RawBite – The organic fruit & nut bite

Another very popular organic raw-gluten free bar option. Again – only natural sugar from fruit. There 8 flavors available – Protein, Spicy Lime, Apple-Cinnamon, Raw Cacao, Coconut, Vanilla Berries, Cashew and Peanut – and I really can´t decide which one is my no. 1 😉 My top 3 are Vanilla Berries, Protein and Cashew 😀

 


Love Raw offer a little range organic goodies – the 4 Love Raw bars and also 3 Superfood Blends. – all of them, I know you knew it, raw, as well as gluten and soy free, and made using totally natural ingredients – fruit, nuts, seeds and superfoods. Just like, yep, the brands I mentioned before 😀 The 4 bar flavors are Coconut-Chia, Rosehip-Lemon, Cacao-Maca and my fave: Cacao-Spirulina 😀 My lovely lady Lauren also wrote a review about the brand – go check it out : LINK 😀

Pulsin & Beyond offer natural protein bars as well as protein powders and other healthy treats 😀 It´s also quite a popular brand 😀 And I have very personal feeling with this brand bc in winter 2014/2015 I won a package of bars via Instagram 😀 and it was the 1st time ever I won something 😀 Their bars are super duper tasty, all full of natural and organic ingredients. The Pulsin protein bars are a perfect pre- or post-exercise boost but also super amazing portable, healthy little meals on the go 😀 They are the only ones on my list that aren´t raw but of course they are gluten free, without added sugar and non-gmo as well. Flavors are Raspberry & Goji Raw Choc Brownie, Maca Bliss Raw Choc Brownie, Almond & Raisin Raw Choc Brownie, Maple & Peanut Protein Bar, Maple & Whey Crisp Protein Bar, Orange Choc Chip Protein Bar (the one I won ;)), Vanilla Choc Chip Protein Bar
and my favorite : Mint Choc Chip Protein Bar 😀


The Beyond bars, a big smaller, are Organic Açaí Berry Bar, Organic Apple Cinnamon Bar, Organic Blueberry Bar, Organic Raw Choc Bar, Organic Baobab Pineapple Bar and Organic Sour Cherry Bar.

..

 

Taste of Nature is a brand offering muesli bars – 100% organic, non-gmo like all the other bars, and gluten free as well. The are super delicious! My very favorite muesli bars available in stores 🙂 there are many flavors – Coconut, Orange, Pineapple, Cranberry, Almond, Goji, Brazil Nut, Blueberry, Pomegranate and Apple 🙂

These were the brands I like the most. I also want to mention that Veganz also offer their own raw bars now 😀 I tried one and it was really good! Another pretty cool brand is Foodloose 😀 with their muesli bars 🙂

There are also other bar brands like Nakd, Trek, ProBar,  Clif Bar, … but I´m not that satisfied with them.

They are mostly to sweet and high-processed for my taste and therefore I hardly buy them. I tried almost all the brand and many flavors. My point is clear – My favorite brands are the ones I like the most 😉


D.I.Y.

 

  • Blogilates – Life Bars

Peanut Butter Bliss

 

  • 1 cup peanuts
  • 20 pitted dates
  • 2 tbs peanut butter
  • A pinch of salt (Optional)

Coconut Cashew Craze

 

  • 1 cup roasted cashews
  • 20 pitted dates
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut flakes
  • 2 tbs cashew butter
  • A pinch of salt (Optional)

Cherry Almond Cheer

 

  • 1/2 cup roasted cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 20 pitted dates
  • 10 dried cherries (or cranberries)
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract (Optional)
  • A pinch of salt (Optional)

Simply place all ingredients in a blender (make sure the dates are pitted ;)) and blend until a dough-like consistency. Scoop the mixture into baking tray or so, spread it out and press it down into an even layer. Place in the fridge for about 30 minutes before you can cut it into bars. You store them in the fridge or freezer as well 😀

*NOTE: I also encourage you to feel free to add any other desired additive ingredient – such as spices, protein powders, superfoods (powders), seeds, … And based on all these easy peasy recipe ideas you can create your own creations (like me 😉 scroll down to see AnnaBelle´s versions ;))


  • Naturally Sassy

Banola Bars

 

Chocolate Oat Bars

 


Mulberry & Apricot Bars

 

No-Bake Peanut Butter Granola Bars

Sticky Almond Butter Flapjacks 

I also tried the 2 recipes for bars published in Saskia´s cookbook 😀 both super easy to make 😉

Raw Chocolate Brownie Bars (pecans, dates, gojis, raw cacao powder // Pecannüsse, Datteln, Gojibeeren, Rohkakaopulver); Raw Gingerbread Bars (pecans, almonds, dates, cinnamon, ginger // Pecannüsse, Mandeln, Datteln, Zimt, Ingwer)

  • Annabelle´s Creations

Well … You can make your own creations with whatever you like! Using dates and nuts of choice for the base it’s easy to combine with everything;) dried fruits, seeds, protein powders, raw cacao, superfoods powders, spices, and so on 😉 you can also simply recreate your favorite bars from some brands 😉

Inca Berry Ginger Bars

  • 1/2 cup cup (roasted) cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 20 pitted dates
  • 1 handful inca berries aka dried physalis
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 2 tbs cashew or almond butter
  • Protein or any superfood boost powder (Optional)

Goji Berry Hemp Seed Bars

img_5922

  • 1/2 cup (roasted) cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 20 pitted dates
  • 1 handful dried gojis
  • 1 tsp hemp protein powder
  • 1 tbs hemp seeds
  • 2 tbs cashew or almonds butter
  • Any superfood boost powder (Optional)

!!! FURTHER RECIPES from other blogs (try outs, …) as well as my own upcoming variations are going to be added to this blogpost every now and then 😉 keep yourself updated if you´re interested.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post! It’s so useful seeing a round-up of lots of different bars in one place. I love lots of these too, but I’ve never tried your favourite Roo bars – I’ll definitely have to find them! And thank you for linking my review too 🙂 Have a lovely rest of the week x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

