Nan´s Potato Soup – AnnaBelle’s vegan recreation

 

Happy #SoupySunday 😀 today I’m getting more traditional 😉 It’s no secret that the Austrian cuisine is not that vegan-friendly most of the time (the traditional cuisine  isn’t always that easy to turn into a vegan version). But sometimes it’s possible;) 

When I was a child my grandma cooked on Sundays- the family lunch including soup, main + salad and dessert. I’ll never forget that memories, the dishes, the routine, the tradition. And how delicious the food was! My granny was a great cook and she was creative! She loved to use many herbs and spices … just like me 🙂 family affair;) Therefore I wanted to honor her by trying to prepare something inspired. I was craving for a potato soup so I recreated a traditional potato soup recipe 😉 I know it very well from my childhood time 😀 but of course I changed it a bit 😀 here’s my NAN´S POTATO SOUP 😀 two of the main differences – mine is vegan and glutenfree 😉 but all inspired by my grandma;) with many herbs and spices for great taste 😉 

  

It turned out quite wonderful – back into my childhood memories;) and it feels great! I absolutely enjoyed it and it won’t be the last traditional recipe I recreate into a vegan version 😉 and let’s be real: a good potato soup is always the best 😉 

Curious ? Try it out! It’s rather simple!!!

2-4 serves

  

You need :

  • 2-3 potatoes, washed, pealed and cubed (I didn´t peal mine btw bc I prefer it with skin)
  • 1-2 carrot(s), chopped (you can also use parsnips or both)
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 350-500ml veg stock
  • Spices (fresh grated ginger, caraway seeds, nutmeg,…), herbs (parsley, coriander, rosemary, marjoram, bay leaves, basil, thyme, oregano, fennel, …), salt and pepper to season and taste (as needed)
  • 1 handful chopped or dried mushrooms (Optional) 
  • Some soy, rice, coconut or oat cuisine or milk (Optional for creamy version) 

Heat oil in a pan over a medium high heat, add onion and spices, cook, stirring constantly until onions have are translucent. Then, add the potato cubes and carrot/parsnip and roast gently until slightly golden brown. Add the stock (or water), herbs and mushrooms if using and cook until the veg is soft, about 20-30 minutes. Finally season to taste. Add cuisine or milk if you want a creamy version. 

  
Serve and Enjoy 😀 

NOTE: if using bay leaves – don’t forget to remove before eating! 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

