AnnaBelle´s Easter

 

#glutenfreevegan Easter Lamb from Nom Nom Bakery

Happy Easter 😀 Ok, it´s already over but let´s look back with joy 😀 How have you celebrated this year? Traditional or modern? 🙂 With family and friends? Or rather alone and relaxed? 🙂 Tell me 😉 I´m curious to hear about it 😀


I´m going tell you about my Easter celebration this year (like I also did with my Christmas) 😉 I spent the whole festive weekend at “home” in Vienna with my mum 😀 We celebrated it together – bc family is the most important in our view! So… after we both got home from vacation in Zell am See – she drove to Carinthia and I was on my way back to Vienna – my mum took the train on Saturday to come over for Easter to my place 😀 and todaym after Easter Monday, she left again :/ I wouldn´t be sad either if she would have stayed here longer for I like her company a lot 😀 but however, life (sadly) has to be back into daily routines now and work continues (though I´m not ready 😉 I need a longer holiday bc I´m not relaxed and calm at all after my “adventure” in Salzburg and some other stress!) Good news is that my mum FINALLY found at least a few minutes of rest and sleep and is on her way back to calm and balanced life! But she is still traumatized after our vacation 😛 But Easter weeked is, of course, always a bit stressful! That’s the way it is – family craziness;) I desperately wanted to create a rather traditional Easter meal alla vegan 😉 last year we also celebrated vegan (mostly) and abit traditional 😉 this time it got bigger and planed 😉 But before I continue:  some Pre-Easter stories 😀 and then – Easter 😉

Pre-Easter

Preparations…

I started most parts of my preparation for Easter about 1 week before holidays started = during my last week in school! In fact my plans were on my mind about 1-2 months before! (Yep crazy but I wanted it to be as perfect as possible) 😛 so well, during that week I went food shopping! I wrote a list about what I’ll need and went to all the different stores and shops to get what I want! The only things I had to buy on Saturday before celebration were fresh veg, fruits and so on 😉 it took some time bc I stood in front of the shelves in the stores for ages! I wanted to buy the best things possible and affordable (and also not too much)and therefore I needed to shop around and take my time 😉 I’m an huge perfectionist when it comes to my food 😉 (no secret ;)) I chose carefully and finally I was satisfied with what I chose 😀 I also tried out new things :

  • Vegourmet Jeezini Swiss
  • Vegourmet Jeezini Monti
  • Vegourmet “Raucherwurzer Art” sausages
  • Happy Cheeze Classic
  • Wheaty Seitan Roast Beev
  • Emil´s Bio-Manufraktur Vegan Mayo

1st Vegan Easter Market in Vienna 

 

On Saturday, my 1st day of holidays, before #PalmSunday = the day before I left for my vacation, I visited the 1st vegan Easter Market 😀 I was super excited about it bc it´s super fun and nice 😉 I like this kind of events 🙂 The market was quite small and cute but I think it was big enough 😉 Let´s start little by little! Some companies like Jenonne, Veganz or Nom Nom Bakery I knew already (and you too 😉 maybe 😀 of not -> LINK)  were there 🙂 There was opportunity to eat, try out and get informed and of course buy some things (present for Easter?! 😉 ) 😀 And there was also a program with lectures, children´s program and evening entertainment 🙂 Quite a nice place and way to get involved and meet new (and already familiar) like-minded people 😀


Vegan “Secret Easter Bunny” – Secret Santa vegan & al’Easter 😉 

Easter Basket

This year I tool part of “Veganes Osterwichteln” 😀 it´s like Secret Santa al´Easter and absolutely liked the idea 😀 I actually already wanted to join Christmas but somehow I forgot about it. But Easter, I joined in 😀 Not just to get goodies 😉 no, bc I like to give and share things and bc I like to connect with fellow vegans and to meet new people and make friends 😀 Fortunately my partner also lives in Vienna so it was possible to meet her in person 🙂 bc of my vacation week I wasn´t easy to meet so we had to find a good moment to trade out Easter baskets 😀 At the vegan Easter market we met 😀 and a nice conversation started 😀 I can´t wait until we meet again for a meal soon 🙂 I unpacked my basket on Holy Saturday right after my Easter meal 🙂 loads of goodies I like 🙂 She definitely knew what I might like 😀

Goodies for little AnnaBelle 😀 favorite stuff 😀
  • Planet Organic Popcorn
  • Planet Organic raw bar
  • RooBars (Mulberry & Chia)
  • Pukka Herbs Earl Grey tea
  • Alnatura Chai tea
  • Provamel Rice-Chocolate milk
  • Inspiral Raspberry-Coconut pecks
  • Sonnentor Chilli spice

I hope she also likes the things I gave to her 😀


Easter Weekend

26.03.2016 – Holy Saturday

 

Let the Easter madness begin 😀 On Saturday I went for last-minute food shopping to get fruits and veg I needed for the Easter weekend – tomatoes, cucumbers carrots, pepper and co 😉 And I had to pick up my ordered goodies from Nom Nom Bakery 🙂


A few weeks ago, I ordered a glutenfree Easter Lamb (sweetened with xylith) and an ordinary traditional Easter bread (aka Osterpinze 😉 ) for our feast 😀 The bread was super fresh and soft and very delicious 😀 The lamb – almost too cute to eat it but we did it anyhow – white and innocent was also very, very good 😀 Absolutely satisfied 😀

Our “traditional” Easter meal was composed of vegan smoked sausages, vegan roast beev, 2 kinds of vegan jeezini, Happy Cheeze Classic cashew cheeze spread, vegan mayo, whole-grain mustard, Dijon mustard, fresh red cole/horseradish, cocktail gherkins, silverskin onions, carrots, cucumber, bell peppers and Easter Egg Muffins (recipe below in the Recipe category ;)) 😀


It  was super tasty and yum and reminded me/us a lot of our former Easter meals years ago! 😀 The sausages and beev tastes quite authentic and the cheeze alternatives were all very good too 😀 Althogether a wonderful meal for us ladies 😀

#SassySaturday ? No recipe this time …but even more exciting #sassylicious news 😀 punctual to Easter it arrived ! The best present from me to myself 😀 I’ve been waiting for it since the release (or longer) and now I finally got it – my @naturally.sassy cookbook 😀 The best thing ever and signal that many “sassy” events are not going to happen in future – no end that soon 😉  I needed to celebrate with a cup of Pukka Herbs tea 😀 I’m beyond happy 😀


Just the same as the book I also got my delivery from Feinstoff 😀 Easter gifts came all on the tick this year 😀 Packed with superfood energy and power 😀 stock is fuller again 😀 Thanks to kind Feinstoff company 😀 😀


27.03.2016 – Easter Sunday

 

I started Easter Sunday with my weekly routine for breakfast -> #PancakeSunday 😀 I made BUCKWHEAT SPIRULINA PANCAKES 🙂 the last of 4 creations of my March theme, the #GreenPancake month 😀 I decorated it colorful and special for Easter celebration 😉 served on green salad plate with loads of different frozen as well as dried berries, almonds and seeds + some selfmade/homemade Easter goodies: Easter Egg Oat Cookies and Easter Egg Date Confect/Bliss Balls (recipes for both below in the Recipe Category of this blogpost) 😀 and can you see my 2 dark chocolate Easter bunnies? Cute and smelling super amazing (but they are far too lovely to eat them!!! 😉 )

Around lunch time we not just had another serve of our Easter meals collection but also our #SoupySunday soup of the day 😉 inspired by @deliciouslyella I made CLEANSING GREEN SOUP 😀 green energy on a sunny spring day 😀 (weather during the Easter weekend was fine :D)


The day was all about family time and rest! Much needed and still not enough 😉 The bakery of the day was my #GLUTENFREEVEGAN CARROT CAKE (guess what – recipe is coming later on 😉 )! A fluffy soft and incredibly tasty cake ❤ and gone in no time!


28.03.2016 – Easter Monday

Easter Monday 🙂 We started the sunny morning with a berrylicious breakfast for 2 😀 I made a big serve of BAKED VANILLA-BERRY PORRIDGE for me and my mum 😀 not just eyecandy also sweet and yummy dish 😀 like always!

The last day of Easter celebration went very well and we had a great time 😀 Eating the last Easter meal serves, making some little trips 😉 and talking about some future plans 😀 nothing special but perfect just the way it was 😉 simple and not complicated at all! I enjoyed the family time and lazy days (no exercise just food – and not healthy and no little ;)) Especially our dessert was a true pleasure – a CHOCOLATE VANILLA PUDDING CREAM topped with mixed berries and pomegrante seeds 😀

That´s it I guess 😀 A simple, little family Easter festival 😉


Recipes

#SoupySunday – Cleansing Green Soup (inspired by @deliciouslyella)

 


#GlutenfreeVegan Carrot Cake

 

  • 1/3 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup rice flour
  • 1-2 tbs flax seeds
  • 2-3 tbs grated walnuts
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • A pinch of ground ginger and cardamom
  • A pinch of lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla (Optional)
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1-2 tbs pure maple or date syrup (more or less – depending on how sweet you like it)
  • 1-2 tbs melted coconut oil
  • 2-3 carrots, finely grated
  • 1/4 cup water (more or less)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup crushed walnut pieces

Preheat your oven to 190°C. Combine mashed bananas, syrup and oil in a blender and mix until smooth. In a bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, flax seeds, grated nuts, zest and spices, then add in the blended syrup mixture ans stir until it forms a moist and gooey batter. Stir in water as needed until well combined. Time to also add the grated carrots, lemon juice, raisins and walnuts. Pour the smooth cake batter into a prepared baking dish/tin, top it with some seeds and more crushed nuts, place in the preheated oven and then bake for approximately 40-50 minutes (until lightly browned on the top and not too liquid).


Easter Egg Cupcakes

  • 100g gluten free flour of choice (I used buckwheat)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • Around 60-65 ml dairy free (gf) milk of choice (you can also use water instead)
  • Sweetener of choice as needed (I used pure maple syrup)
  • 1 chia egg (1 tsp chia seeds mixed with 3 tsp water and soaked for 10-15 minutes)
  • 1 tbs lemon or orange zest
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon or orange
  • Optional: spices, vanilla, raw cacao powder, carob powder, flavor drops, …

Lemon Cashew Cream

  • 1 cup cashews, soaked overnight
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp vegan yogurt or vegan cream cheese (Optional)
  • 1 tsp lemon zest

Preheat your oven to 180-200 °C! In a bowl (big one) mix flour, baking powder and milk and add the other remaining ingredients. Stir until you have a creamy dough! Fill the batter into prepared muffin cups (1/3 full) and bake for about 15 – 25  minutes. Never forget to watch your dough while baking – every oven is differnt too. Let them cool down after baking.

For the lemon cashew cream – rinse and drain the cashews and add them into your blender or food processor together with all other ingredients and blend until well combined.

When the muffins are cooled down and ready to be served, add the cream on the cakes and place an apricot half or a dried apricot on top of each cupcake 😀


Easter Egg Oat Cookies / 2-Ingredient Chewy Cookies (Sugar Free)


  • 2 large, very ripe bananas per version
  • 1 cup flakes (buckwheat, quinoa, rice, gf oats, …)

+

Upgrade ingredients of choice:

  • For GREEN – add matcha green tea powder, barleygrass and/or wheatgrass powder
  • For RED/PURPLE – add red beet powder
  • For DARK GREEN – add spirulina powder
  • For CHOCOLATE – add raw cacao powder
  • For COFFEE – add coffee powder (maybe mixed with choc … yum)
  • For CARAMEL – add maca powder
  • For COCONUT – add coconut flakes (and also coat them with coconut flakes by sprinkling the cookies)
  • For LEMON/ORANGE – add zest (and also coat them with zest by sprinkling the cookies)
  • …. and so on – just as you desire 😀 be creative 😀

NOTE : You can also add in dried berries, nuts, seeds, … as you desire 😀 also sweetener or spices.

 

Preheat oven to 160°C. Simply mash the nanas in a bowl with a spoon or fork, add in the flakes and stir until well combined. Next, add anything you like into the dough – as you desire 😀  Mix it into the nana-oat dough if/what you´re using. Then, scoop the dough onto a prepared baking sheet and form egg-sahpes cookies and sprinkle with desired toppings if using. Bake for about 15 – 20 minutes. 😀


Raw Easter Egg Date Confect/Bliss Balls

  • 20 dates, soaked in water for more than 1 hour
  • 5 dates
  • 6 tbs grated nuts or almonds and/or coconut flakes
  • 1 tbs raisins
  • Spices of choice as needed and desired (cinnamon, cardamom, zest, vanilla, nutmeg, …)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp flax seeds

Upgrade ingredients for colorful Easter eggs 😀

  • For GREEN – add matcha green tea powder, barleygrass and/or wheatgrass powder
  • For RED/PURPLE – add red beet powder
  • For DARK GREEN – add spirulina powder
  • For CHOCOLATE – add raw cacao powder
  • For COFFEE – add coffee powder (maybe mixed with choc … yum)
  • For CARAMEL – add maca powder
  • For COCONUT – add coconut flakes (and also coat them with coconut flakes by tossing the eggs)
  • For LEMON/ORANGE – add zest (and also coat them with zest by tossing the eggs)
  • …. and so on – just as you desire 😀 be creative 😀

Mix all main ingredients in a food processor until well combined. Seperate the dough, add further desired ingredients and mix well/combine.  Form little egg-shaped balls, coat them as desired/needed and store in the fridge until you serve them :D.


Chocolate-Vanilla Pudding Cream

 

2 serves

  • 1/2 package of gluten free vanilla pudding powder
  • 1/4 l dairy free milk of choice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1-2 tbs raw cacao powder
  • 1 tsp carob powder
  • Spices of choice – cinnamon, nutmeg,… (Optional)
  • Sweetener of choice as needed


Seperate 3 tbs milk into a cup, mix with pudding powder and stir until well combined! Heat the rest of the milk in a sauce pan until simmer. Remove from heat and add the vanilla cream and heat again while constantly stirring until creamy.Finally add vanilla, spices, raw cacao, carob and sweetener Editabd stir until smooth. Fill into (cold) cups and put them into the fringe. When the pudding is cold enough – Ready to top it with berries and fruits of choice 😉

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, it sounds like you had a fantastic Easter! I’m glad you got to spend time with family and enjoy lots of great food 🙂 Our family never do much for Easter, but you’ve got me wishing we’d baked up a storm in the kitchen as well! Maybe next year x

    Like

    1. Next year’s Easter 🙂 coming soon 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

