Green Bean, Rice & Almond Salad (inspired by @80twenty)

 
Happy Monday peps! Late upload of my lunch today … Bc 1st day of school and though I had 4 hours break between classes I had no time (or interest) in spending this time on my blog and on social networks;) sometimes I’m an anti-social one and want to have time without my phone! Offline! But I’m a good girl to share my new lunch idea anyway:D I made GREEN BEAN, RICE & ALMOND SALAD 😀 inspired by Kris from @80twenty again 😀 I used red wild rice but feel free to use any you like! I prefer brown, red or black one and I like preparing different kinds every week = usually never one rice twice a week  if I cook myself some rice dishes more often thank once a week! You know? 😉 this salad is super yum with the almond butter-balsamic vinegar dressing! And of course… Yummy green beans!!! 

red wild rice…

 
You need :

  • 1 cup haricots verts (green or yellow beans), trimmed
  • 3 tbs raw almond butter
  • 3 tbs olive oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tbs balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt (Optional)
  • 1 cup (uncooked) black, red or brown rice (follow the cooking instructions on the package)
  • 1/2 cup raw almonds, sliced
  • Fresh herbs of choice, chopped
  • Pepper and spices to taste

 
Start by steaming the beans until just cooked through but not limp (7-8 minutes). Set aside to cool (you can cook the day before). 

 

In a big bowl, whisk together the dressing ingredients almond butter, olive oil, lemon juice, vinegar and salt. Add in the cooked beans and turn them gently in the dressing to coat. Then, stir in the cooked rice ((I prepared it the day before – depending on what rice you choose the cooking time is about 20-45 minutes, cooked in double(+) amount water). Finish and season to taste as desired.

   


Serve with chopped almonds and fresh herbs of choice on top 😀 You can store the salad in the fridge for a couple of days if needed.

 

LINK : http://www.80twenty.ca/2013/green-bean-black-rice-and-almond-salad/

Leave a Reply

