The last pancakes of 2015 – “Omi´s Marillenknödel” (Apricot Dumpling) Pancakes

Happy #PancakeSunday! 😀 The last one… the last one of 2015! The fun continues in 2016! Of course! 😉 and be prepared for all the upcoming creations! I am! And I also like to look back on what lovely versions I´ve already made 😀 Impressive, even for me 😀 Today, I’m driving back home to Vienna after spending the Christmas days with mum in Carinthia 🙂 but first we go to church together 🙂 and visit our house in the country side. And do you know what we did before? Exactly, we ate our pancakes for breakfast 😀 To make the last pancakes of 2015 very special I decided to prepare a quite worthy creation! Crazy? A bit! Delicious? Absolutely! 😀 And somehow it also makes me laugh bc the creation is really something else 😀


I proudly present … my “OMI´S MARILLENKNÖDEL” BUCKWHEAT APRICOT DUMPLING PANCAKES! Woohoo! 😀 Sound rather weird. I know. And no, I didn´t make Austrian apricot dumplings out of the dough as well as I didn´t form a giant apricot dumpling (I had that in mind for a few seconds but then I decided against it – I am crazy but not crazy enough to do it that way 😉 ). I simply made pancakes that taste like apricot dumplings. Like the APPLE STRUDEL PIE ones I´ve made not so long ago! But there is reason why I mention this apple strudel pie insprired creation… there is a similarity! The following : “Omi´s” 😀 ´Back then, I made those pancakes using “Omi´s Apfelstrudel” juice. In the meantime the company released a new juice – the “Omi´s Marillenknödel” juice 😀 And it meant that I absolutely wanted to accept the challenge and prepare panckes using it. Today, 27th of Dec. markes that day I did it. I completed the challenge successful and it was huge fun 😀 Sadly, it´s winter and I didn´t get fresh apricots for topping but for those of you ever trying it one day in summer – you can use apricots for topping 😀 and you can also chop up some apricot and add it into the dough 😀 I used dried ones instead. And the result was quite lovely 😀 Fluffy as always and tasty as well! And childhood memories came over me – me eating apricot dumpling in my grandma´s kitchen 😀 oh childhood, were have you been? At least I had my pancakes to remind me and today, I can attend the church for thinking of my granny 😀 Sunday got it´s complete meaning back today – family, memories and love 😀 and tasty pancakes 😀
You need :

  • 2/3 cup buckwheat flour (non-glutenfree idea is whole grain spelt flour – 1 cup; or other glutenfree ones like rice or brown millet flour)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup dairy free milk of choice
  • 1/2 cup apricot juice, preferably (actually needed for max. pleasure) “Omi´s Marillenknödel” juice!
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • A pinch of lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla
  • 1-2 chopped apricot(s) (you can use dried instead)
  • 1 tbs apricot mash (or jam)
  • Sweetener as needed (Optional)
  • Oil for the pan (I use a coconut oil)

Crumb-Topping

  • 1 tbs vegan butter
  • Some glutenfree bread crumbs or cookies
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tbs coconut or birch sugar


Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt, spices) in a bowl, add the milk, juice and oil and stir until well combined! Now add the apricot pieces, spices, mash, and other desired ingredients to taste and finish. Heat oil in a pan and bake the pancakes on both sides 🙂

For the crumb topping, simply melt the butter in a pan and add the bread or cookie crumbs, cinnamon and sugar and roast for a few seconds or minutes. You can toss the pancakes with the topping by placing both sides in the crumb pan or you can also simply add the crumb mix on top of your pancakes 😀
Further topping ideas – chopped (dried as well as fresh) apricots, cinnamon, nuts (walnuts, pecans), fruits, nana slices, pure maple syrup, nut butters, jam, … 😀


Serve and Enjoy 😀

Leave a Reply

