(Omi´s)Apple Strudel Pie Pancakes 

Happy #PancakeSunday 😀 1st Sunday back at my mum´s place after 2 Sunday´s in Vienna 😀 I stay here until tomorrow 😀 Weird feeling to be back at home again after such a long time and actually I didn´t miss it! I enjoy living in Vienna much more but it´s nice to spend my time with mum 😀 The sun is shining beautifully today and it´s a bright and lovely autumn day outside! I´m the only one thinking that the autumn days with it´s colors are most beautiful when the sun is shining and you can see all shades of brown ad orange colors 😀 it simply wonderful 😀 I love nature ❤ most amazing form of art 😀

My pancakes today were also more than just amazing! Very special and incredible not just in taste –  they looked sooooo beautiful ❤ pretty stack and rich in autumn taste 😀 I made BUCKWHEAT APPLE STRUDEL PIE PANCAKES ❤ There is just 1 word to describe the stack : HEAVEN! I´m absolutely speechless bc I expected the stack to be great but it was even better than I ever thought! 😀 I was worried that the creation would be almost like my APPLE version I had once and less apple strudel taste but I totally succeeded it making the stack an apple strudel taste one and very fluffy and enjoyable 😀 You really need to try this kind of taste ! It´s divine 😀

 

You need :

  • 2/3 cup buckwheat flour (non-glutenfree idea is whole grain spelt flour – 1 cup; or other glutenfree ones like rice or brown millet flour)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup dairy free milk of choice
  • 1/2 cup apple juice, preferably “Omi´s Apfelstrudel”!
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground clove
  • A pinch of lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cardamon (Optional)
  • A pinch of ginger (Optional)
  • 1/2 apple, grated
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1-2 Medjool dates, pitted and chopped
  • 1 tbs unsweetened applesauce (Optional)
  • Sweetener (Optional; but not needed)
  • Oil for the pan (I use a coconut oil)

Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt, spices) in a bowl, add the milk, juice and oil and stir until well combined! Now add the grated apple, raisins, dates, and other desired ingredients to taste and finish. Heat oil in a pan and bake the pancakes on both sides 🙂
Perfect to top with roasted cinnamon-apple slices, nuts (walnuts, pecans), cinnamon, vanilla (vanilla sauce would be perfect too), nana slices, dates (caramel sauce for example), maple syrup, nut butters, apple sauce or also berries 😀

 

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

