Wild Rice Salad (inspired by @80twenty)

 Back home from ballet lesson I was craving for food bc I haven’t eaten anything since breakfast (carrot cake oatmeal) 😛 and it was already past 1 pm 😉 therefore I went to kitchen to prepare myself a yummy meal 😀 I had a WILD RICE SALAD inspired by Kris´s blog @80twenty for lunch 😀 I used black, red and brown rice but the color of ALL kinds turned into lilac (like the lilac wild rice ;)) during cooking 😉 so did the sauce pan 😉 but no drama! Some hot water and the pan is clean again 😀 I made the rice even before leaving my flat for ballet and let it cool until I got home 😀 some kind of foodprep! So I only had to prepare the veg and dressing:D it tasted divine!!! Like yesterday, when I had a Balance Bowl, I made 2 portions (actually 3 for “normal” the eaters like my mum for example – I eat big portions!) – one for lunch and the other leftover one for dinner so I don’t have to cook twice a day (I have little time for it) or have to buy a takeaway or just live on snacking only (sometimes I have to but if I can chance the fact I do) 😀 now I am off to academy and in the evening I can enjoy the rest of my salad for dinner 😀 yippee! 😉 

You need :

  

Salad

  • 1 cup wild rice (I used a mix of black, red rice and brown rice)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 – 1 bell pepper, finely chopped (you can use a mix of different colors – I had green, red, orange and yellow – a rainbow:D almost) 
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 handful broccoli
  • 1 avocado, peeled, pitted and chopped or sliced
  • 2 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 handful walnuts and almonds, chopped
  • 1 tbs grated fresh ginger

Dressing

  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbs olive or flax seed oil
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp tamari
  • 1 tbs maple syrup (Optional)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

 For the salad, cook the rice and in a saucepan with the water (covered) until done (about 40 minutes to an hour; simply follow the cooking instructions on the package). Drain, rinse, and set aside until cooled. Meanwhile, make the dressing (below). Then, combine the cooled rice with the remaining salad ingredients (you can steam the veg or sauté or whatever-you can also use other vegetables), except the avocado (best for last 😉 )  in a bowl and drizzle the dressing on top. Serve topped with chopped/sliced avocado and a few nuts and seeds.

For the dressing, place the dressing ingredients in a bowl or jar mix/stir/shake until well combined.

  

LINK : http://www.80twenty.ca/2013/wild-rice-salad/

Leave a Reply

