Moroccan Quinoa & Sweet Potato Stew (recipe by @superfoodsiobhan)

  Hello on this cold and windy Tuesday 😉 I feel a bit sick (since Sunday) but I did my “duties” anyway;) I had ballet class this morning ❤ it feels great to attend a course after such long break! Actually I had a quite “flexible” day 😉 Split was perfect like never before. 😀 hope my body stays that way (though parts of my body feel sore and weird bc of the new training plan I have – Pilates for example! I lot Pilates, ballet and strengthening and breathing) 😀 after ballet I went home to cook myself a gorgeous and delicious lunch – MOROCCAN QUINOA & SWEET POTATO STEW 😀 a recipe from Siobhan again and gosh, it was damn awesome!!! Purrrfect meal for autumn! 😀 it’s spicy and warming and the body feels better and more resistant to the weather 😉 made a big pot and the whole flat smelled like spices ❤ afterwards I had class at academy with my beloved colleagues:D a great day ! Now, some rest to be fresh and full of energy tomorrow:D 

  
You need :

  • 1 cup quinoa (I used 1/3 red and 2/3 white; I cooked mine the night before – you can too :D)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbs ginger
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 clove of garlic
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 sweet potato, cubed (you don´t have to peal but you can if you like)
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 – 1 cup water
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup fresh coriander

Start by cooking the quinoa in about double amount water in the same pan (follow the instructions on the package; it will take about 15-20 minutes to cook! Add a little more water if needed 😀 I like to prepare my quinoa the day before :D). Simply prepare it as you prefer your quinoa (I experienced that everyone is different when it comes to perfect quinoa). Let it cool down a little. While the quinoa rests, prepare the stew.

Heat some coconut oil in a small pot, add your spices (be careful not to burn them). Then, add onion and garlic and cook until browned, adding water if necessary. Next, chop your sweet potato into cubes and add the cubes into the pan together with your chopped pepper. Allow to brown slightly and get coated in the spices, then add approximately 1/2 cup of water and the chopped tomatoes, turn the heat down, and simmer for about 20 minutes (check that the sweet potato is soft and cooked – add more liquid if it is not). Once the sauce has thickened up and the vegetables are cooked, add in the quinoa and fresh coriander, and stir until well combined and hot.

Serve & Enjoy 😀

  
LINK : http://www.superfoodsiobhan.com/2013/06/moroccan-quinoa-and-sweet-potato-stew.html

Leave a Reply

