Roasted (Garlic & Rosemary) Butternut Squash Soup (recipes by @superfoodsiobhan)

Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Soup Madness contiues… yes, autumn time is soup time 😀 the cold seasons of the year are the perfect “excuse” to have soup for me 😀 I can continue my addiction and nobody thinks I´m weird … I´m such a soup lover ❤ funny  thing is that when I was a child I hardly wanted soup 😛 On Sunday´s we always had familly lunch with soup, main dish, salad and dessert. I often said that I don´t want soup at all – it was always a thing we had many “discussions” bout 😉 – but today, ´m honestly addicted. My grandparents must me proud of me 😉 😉

Spicy Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

One of my favorite soups, I already mentioned once or twice, is pumpkin soup! I simply love it 😀 On Friday, I went to the organic food store to buy a butternut squash/pumpkin ❤ to make one of my long time plans come true!

IMG_0809 IMG_0810

On @superfoodsiobhan ´s blog I once found 2 butternut squash soup recipes and I always wanted to try 😀 so here we go 😀 On Saturday, I made myself the SPICY ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP & today, another version, the ROASTED GARLIC & ROSEMARY BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP 😀 and believe it or not – it was pure pumpkin heaven in my bowl 😀 I love the taste of butternut squash (one of my fav pumpkins) 😀 the roasted taste really made the soups perfect (I guess they would have been good if not roasted <3) 😀 the best soups are always the homemade, selfmade and organic/natural ones 😀 rich in taste also pretty 😉 prrretty soups 😀 I´m happy I tried them out! I´m sure it wasn´t my last time preparing them 😉 and also not the last butternut squash recipe 😀

Roasted Garlic & Rosemary Butternut Squash Soup

2 serves

You need:

  • 1 tbs coconut oil
  • 1/2 – 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1/2 – 1 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1 tbs coriander
  • 1-2 cup(s) water
  • For SPICY ROASTED BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP – add 1/2 tsp chilli flakes and 1 tbs cumin while baking the squash in the oven
  • For ROASTED GARLIC & ROSEMARY version – add more garlic and 1 -2 springs rosemary to the squash while baking in the oven

Preheat your oven to 180°C and peel and cut your squash into cubes, toss with half of the coconut oil, lay in a baking tray (and the spices; for GARLIC ROSEMARY version – add garlic and rosemary after 20 minutes baking time) and roast for 45 minutes, or until softened.

Meanwhile, heat the the remaining coconut oil in a large pot and add the onion, garlic and other remaining spices. Place the lid on the pot and leave it to sweat and soften (5 minutes) before adding the butternut squash cubes and water and cook/simmer for 5-15 minutes or until the soup is hot and the squash is fully softened. Allow to cool slightly, then using a blender, blend the soup until smooth (add extra cup of water for a smoother soup). Reheat the pot of soup if necessary and serve whilst hot and enjoy alongside your favourite bread or bun!


 LINKS:

http://www.superfoodsiobhan.com/2013/11/spicy-roasted-butternut-squash-soup.html

http://www.superfoodsiobhan.com/2014/02/roasted-garlic-and-rosemary-butternut.html

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

