Zucchini Parmigiana (recipe by @naturallysassy)

FullSizeRender.jh

Happy #SassySaturday 😀 today I´m off to my mums place again for the weekend and actually the whole upcoming week… looong story!

Originally I wanted to stay till Wednesday (on Tuesday is my birthday) but I´ll have a surgery on Monday (last wisdom tooth has to be removed before my study in Vienna starts so I won´t have a problem then) – so my birthday is cancelled. No birthday pary. :/ I was looking forward to it for ages (years actually for it´s my 21th) 😛 I´ve had many good birthdays in my life and this year I wanted to go for lunch with mum and my bestie, afterwards bowling and then cinema 😛 but noo! Also no “real” cake for me bc on Tuesday I won´t be able to eat it – just cold and creamy stuff… be prepared – I will show you my “b-day cake alternative” then 😉 another bad thing the past week was that I got sick last Sunday (stomach!). It got better until Wednesday last week but then it returned worse! 😛 I wasn´t able to eat right, not able to do sport and so on… painful moment lately 😛 I hope I´ll feel better on Monday bc of the surgery at the dentist. A positive thing to tell is that I got some of my presents already ❤ sooooo cool! New phone + new laptop (mac) ❤ couldn´t be happier! Dream came true 😀 and I was also shopping for some sportswear and training essentials 😀

Anyway, I did my job and made my @naturally.sassy event today and prepared Saskia´s ZUCCINI PARMIGIANA 😀 sounds quite Italian 😉 It´s an oven-baked courgette with a red veggie sauce and vegan parmesan cheese made with cashews 😀 My stomach didn´t hurt afterwards (YEAHHHHH) so I was able to enjoy the dish! It tasted awesome though I guess I need a break from courgettes! Ate far too many the last few months!!!! But a great thing – a recipe to try 😉

2 serves

You need :

  • 2 large courgettes, halved lengthways
  • 2 – 3 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tbs minced oregano
  • 4 tbs minced basil
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 – 1 (red) onion, minced
  • 10 – 12 mushrooms, pealed and sliced (Optional)
  • 1 red pepper, sliced thinly

Preheat the oven to 190°C. Slice your courgettes and place them on a baking tray with a drizzle of olive oil and bake for around 20 – 25 minutes. Meanwhile, prepare the sauce by first adding onions, pepper and mushrooms into a heated sauce pan with a drizzle of olive oil and sauté until well cooked. Then, add the remaining ingredients (tomatoes, herbs) and simmer for around 3 – 5 minutes. Once the courgettes are baked, remove them from the oven, spread with the sauce and scatter with some of the parmesan (recipe below) on each half. Put back in the oven and bake for another 5 minutes (or until parmesan starts to brown). Serve and Enjoy 😀

Vegan Parmesan

  • 1/2 cup cashew nuts
  • 4 tbs nutritional yeast
  • Some salt to taste

For the ‘parmesan’ simply process the ingredients in a food processor or blender.

FullSizeRender

LINK : http://www.naturallysassy.co.uk/recipes/zucchini-parmigiana

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

