Quinoa Risotto with Avocado Cream (recipe by @naturallysassy)

IMG_20150811_150203

Hello again and welcome to another cooking fun with me 😀 Honestly, I really enjoy the days I find some time for cooking and recreating! I don´t always have the chance (during holidays it´s easier bc I´m at home most of the time :P) and I also don´t know how it will be in autumn when I´m living in Vienna and studying again 😛 Time will tell but I would miss cooking so much therefore I will try my best to get cooking on my daily To-Do-List 😀 Since I started cooking more last summer I feel like I improved a lot and it´s such a great thing. Some think cooking every day is stressful and boring but to me it always felt like huge pleasure 😀 Today I made some wonderful lunch again 😉

On the http://hipandhealthy.com/ page I found @naturallysassy__ ´s recipe for QUINOA RISOTTO with AVOCADO CREAM. The risotto, with sweet potatoes, courgette, peas, green beans, cherry tomatoes and leak, served with th avocado cream was more than just delicious. Definely not a quick recipe but actually it just took me 40 minutes in total so … not that bad 😉 and healthy 😀 As told some times before, I love quinoa and gluten free cooking a lot 🙂 It tasted very hearty and it remembered me on my childhood somehow. I felt like sitting in granny´s kitchen, eating some lunch incl. soup and a warm main dish. The smell really took me back to this memory – happiness, family, holidays, careless feeling about anything. AAAnd super cool side note – I was able to get sweet potatoes at the grocery store yesterday and so I had the chance to really prepare the recipe a 100% ! I really like sweet potatoes, even more than white ones, but it´s tough for me to find them 😛 I had them about 1 or 2 times before but I never prepared a dish using them – 1 st time!!! and I was successful 😀 I like how the taste of the veggies perfectly matched the risotto (I looove risotto – now I love quinoa risotto too 😉 ) + an exquisite finish with the avocado 😀 and some green salad! Family lunch becomes even more fun day by day 😀 though we are just 2 ladies I feel like we finally found a way to get back the family feeling and joy 😀 Good time is about to start 😀 Next time I will ask my mum to join me in the kitchen 😉

2 serves

IMG_20150811_150042

You need :

Quinoa Risotto

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 1 cube vegetable stock
  • 1 -2 courgette(s), halved and sliced
  • 1 handful green beans
  • 6 – 7 cherry tomatoes, halved or not – your choice
  • 1 -2 leek(s)
  • 2 sweet potatoes, pealed and cubed
  • 1/2 cup peas

Preheat the oven to 200°C. Heat the water in a saucepan and add the vegetable stock cube into it and stir until dissolved. Then, pour in the quinoa and cook (washed and rinsed; follow the cooking instruction on the package for preparing; it takes about 15 – 20 minutes). Meanwhile, prepare the sweet potatoes and courgettes and place the pieces on a baking tray together with the tomatoes and drizzle with olive oil. Roast for about 25 minutes (or until soft). Continue to prepare all other vegetables and the avocado cream (below). Sauté the leeks, green beans and peas until soft, then add the cooked quinoa and the roasted vegetables. Mix well and finally season to taste. Serve with the avocado cream and a big green salad.

Avocado Cream

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk (Optional)
  • Juice of 1 – 2 lemon(s)

Blend all ingredients until smooth and refrigerate until you need it.

LINK : http://hipandhealthy.com/quinoa-risotto-avocado-cream/

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

