Apricot-Chai Pancakes – #glutenfree bc I like it ;)

IMG_20150802_113153

1st Sunday of August 😀 I don´t feel that well today! I´m a bit sick 😛 and in pain 😛 2 days ago, on Friday, I was in Lienz to visit OLALA – 24th International Street Theater Festival 😀 I was there two times before (the previous year) with my mum but this year I had to do the trip alone bc my mum was not feeling well. I had a nice time though but sadly, I´m a quite stupid one sometimes, I got a bad sunburn in my neck, on my head and also a bit on my face. And it hurts like f**king hell on my head and neck :/ well well well! And yesterday, I was in Vienna for some meetings – personal Highlight was my foodie meet with my lovely friend Margarethe (https://nourishingmar.wordpress.com/ ) after trying hard to find the chance to meet after ages! I missed her quite much 😀 we went around the city, had some lovely smoothies in a super cute healthy food bar (they also served #vegan falafel sandwiches) and visited the Mariahilfer Opening 😀 quite a great day too! But today I feel baaad – too much sun on my head and I am a bit sick (caught a cold though wearing a lot clothes – obviously I feel sick because of the sunburn!) So I decided to sleep long to rest after days of getting uo early and I kept it slow this morning – did my routine and took the time I needed before making my breakfast 😀

On today´s #PancakeSunday I prepared another glutenfree pancake stack  – yes I´m a glutenfree pancake person! Buckwheat won the battle against spelt quite clearly I guess 😀 1:0 😀 I like buckwheat really much for my pancakes and enjoy the fact to make glutenfree stuff as often as I can 😀 hello, my BUCKWHEAT APRICOT CHAI PANCAKES 😀 Fruity meets spiced, smooth and lovely! And fluffy of course 😀 I just loved them a lot – they made also feel a bit better! Food can really brighten up my mood most of the time.

Anyway, here is my creation written down for you below 😉 Have a nice day 😀

You need:

  • 2/3 cup buckwheat flour (non-glutenfree idea is whole grain spelt flour (1 cup) or other glutenfree ones : rice or brown millet flour)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • 3/4 dairy free milk, preferably #glutenfree
  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 1 chai tea bag
  • 1 -2 tbs cinnamon
  • 1 tbs chai spices to sweeten and season
  • 1 apricot, finely chopped or mashed/blended
  • For CHOCOLATE version use some raw cacao powder and carob powder 😀
  • vanilla, mashed nana, raisins, … (Optional;  you can add it you want)
  • Sweetener is optional too
  • Oil for the pan (I use a coconut oil)

Soak the teabag in the milk for 10 – 15 minutes (if you want to have plain APRICOT PANCAKES you don´t need this chai tea bag, the cinnamon and spices 😀 simply skip it :D)! While soaking, mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt) in a bowl. Then, pour in the flavored milk and oil and stir until well combined! Finally, add cinnamon, spices and apricot mashh and other desired ingredients. Heat oil in a pan and bake the pancakes on both sides 🙂

When your stack is ready to be served is the right time for topping 😉 I added nana slices, apricot slices, almonds and my new, verrry favorite almond butter and I also a pinch of cinnamon! ❤

Leave a Reply

