Baked Oil-Free Potato & Carrot Chips & Guacamole

IMG_20150730_132651

Fries/Chips/Wedges for lunch? Why not 😀 Homemade fries can be made quite healthy using healthy fats buuut you can make them even healthier – without using oil – OIL FREE POTATO & CARROT CHIPS 😀 and the taste is even better in my opinion! I saw this way of preparing them on Andrea´s (@eatwithandy) YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpCkltRyJ4YYLEhwh2gf7Sw) She is such sweet, young woman I found via Instagram 😀 I follow her for quite a while now and I´m still very inspired by her 😀 I made these fries a couple times  now and today I also add it to my blog 😀 and I also tried it with carrots! Both are awesome ❤ and perfect soulfood ❤

Had my chips together with GUACAMOLE ❤ served in a bell pepper for extra color on my lunch plate 😀 The recipe for the guacamole is by my love Siobhan @superfoodsiobhan (obviously an easy thing 😛 prepared many times but never made it onto my blog – I needed to change it that fact)! Guacamole is always a very good idea 😀 Quick and yummy 😀 and perfect with anything I can imagine 😀

You need :

Potato Chips (recipe inspired by @eatwithandy)

  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Spices

First things first, you can use normal, white potatoes or sweet potatoes – whatever you prefer – and as many as you like to have (it´s same with the carrots bc there are differents kinds). The amount also depends on the size of the potatoes so I can´t tell you many you need to use (and I don´t know how hungry you really are 😀 I used 1 huuuge potato (as big as my hand!) and 2 big carrots.

Preheat the oven to 200 – 250°C. Slice/Chop up the potatoes and carrots into chips/fries or wedges – however you call them (you can peal them first if needed). Put them on a plate with spices or herbs and to season them before baking – you can use any like 😀 I used one version with herbage and one with pepper spice and chilli flakes. I didn´t salt them but you can if you like 😀 Place the seasoned fries on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 30 – 40 minutes (turn halftime) 😀 When they are golden brown and the kitchen smells awesome they are ready 😀 You can serve them as side dish, with dips like the guacamole, … – anyway, simply eat them bc this is the most important thing 😀

NOTE : if you want to bake them WITH oil – drizzle some coconut or olive oil onto the fries before baking.

LINK : https://youtu.be/ItOQavXvCII

Guacamole (recipe by @superfoodsiobhan)

  • 1 – 2 ripe avocados
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 – 2 (cherry) tomatoes, chopped and seeds removed
  • 2 tbs finely chopped fresh coriander
  • 1 small chilli, chopped finely
  • Juice of 1 lemon (or sweet lime – I prefer sweet lime for Guacamole)
  • Salt and pepper (and other spices if desired) to season

Simply mash your avocado(s) in a bowl until creamy and add in onion, tomato, chilli, salt, pepper and coriander. Finally squeeze the lemon/sweet lime juice over the surface, cover the bowl with a plate and place it in the fridge for a while before serving. Once it´s ready to be served, stir it well and enjoy 😀

LINK : http://www.superfoodsiobhan.com/2014/02/chunky-sweet-potato-fries-with-guacamole.html

IMG_20150730_132534

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

