Favorite Fruity Summer CousCous/Quinoa Salad

IMG_20150708_133741

Time to share my favorite FRUITY SUMMER SALAD with you  😀 I make it quite often (it´s a mix of some recipes I know :P) and yesterday I wanted to share it with you 😀 bc I had it once again. But I had no time to write down bc we had a HUUUUUGE hail-thunder storm in our city and there is a lot damage all around. My balcony looked like a mess and I started to cry – I had to watch how my herbs (mint, lavender, basil, …) fought to surive (so did my other plants and flowers). Day after storm : basil and mint were the only survivors :/ but I´m so glad! I love them too much and die too often (I have rather bad luck with plants). My mum tried hard to clean the balcony!

Today I was in the city – a real mess – and my therapy got cancelled… so what shall I do with this free time? right! Writting down the recipe for the salad 😀 I love how it´s refreshing and cooling on a hot day but also nourishing and healthy 😀 It´s my summer no.1 😀 ❤

2 serves

You need :

  • 1/2 -1 cup cous cous (follow cooking instructions on the package; it´s around double amount of water and 4-5 minutes cooking) but you can also use quinoa instead for #glutenfree!
  • 1-2 cup(s) watermelon, cubed (you can also use another melon, like galia or honeydew, or mix with other melons for more variation)
  • 1-2 cup(s) cucumber, chopped
  • 1 handful (cherry) tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 1 handful mint leaves

Optional

  • strawberries, sliced
  • lettuce
  • tofu, cubed
  • mango, cubed
  • sweet corn or beans

Dressing

  • (sweet) lime juice
  • spices, salt and herbs
  • oil and vinegar (Optional)

It´s easy! You just have to prepare all ingredients (you let the cous cous cool down after cooking if you want it cold on a hot day :D) and mix them for your salad. Same with the dressing 😀 Finally serve and enjoy your summer dish 😀 I like to serve mine inside a bell pepper 😀 It looks pretty great and pepper also fits very well with the salad 😀

Here are also LINKS to the other 2, similar summer salads on my blog :

https://annabellescreationsblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/26/5-ss-sassys-simple-summer-strawberry-salad-inspired-by-naturallysassy/

https://annabellescreationsblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/16/fruity-melon-quinoa-salad-w-orange-balsamic-dressing-recipe-by-nwlife/

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

