Red Currant Oat Scones

IMG_20150705_183627

It´s heatwave over here and I decided to bake the whole afternoon to refill my food stock 😛 and yes it was hot in my kitchen 😛 I made cookies, muffins, buns, granola and scones 😀  I made these BLUEBERRY OAT SCONES ❤ again bc I loved them so much the last time I made them 😀 and I also made some new scone creation –  obviously it´s the same recipe (despite the fact that I used mashed nana instead of applesauce) by with currants 🙂 now I also have RED CURRANT OAT SCONES in my freezer 😀 ready for their job, being eaten 😀 They turned out super soft and the fluffy cakes are smelling like heaven again but I was able to resist and didn´t eat any 😀 So they are safe until I really need them desperately 😀

You need :

  • 1 cup oats made into flour (or just use fine oats; also glutenfree ones possible)
  • 1/2 cup whole grain spelt flour (or buckwheat flour)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup red currants
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1 chia egg, cold (or 1 tbs chia seeds mixed with 3 tbs water and left to thicken in the fridge for about 20 minutes)
  • 1 nana, mashed
  • 2 tbs pure maple syrup (rice or agave), cold

Add together first 3 ingredients in a bowl and in another one, mix your chia egg with the coconut oil, followed by the nana mash and sweetener and stir until well combined. Then continue by pouring the wet ingredients into the dry and gently mix until 90% incorporated, and finally add your currants and very gently fold until everything is well incorporated (Be careful to not squash your currants!).

On a baking sheet, scoop out the sticky dough with an ice cream scoop and place them apart on your baking sheet (if you don’t have an ice cream scoop, you can use alternatives to scoop out your batter such as a measuring cup – approx. 7 scones). Next, preheat your oven to 200°C and bake the scones for about 18 minutes, until the top browns a little. You can eat them right away or store them 😀

Leave a Reply

