Almond Coffee Pancakes (in co-production with my mum)

11195715_1634645523431619_1179029854_n

Good Morning my lovely friends out there! I wish you all a happy #PancakeSunday 😀 Today, I have to thank my mother: without her it wouldn’t be possible to have pancakes today! (To keep the story as short as I can – As you may already know: I´m/was part of YouthTheaterClub at our local theater and we had worked on our performance “Die Wahren Leiden von Vati” during the season and I had a lot big rehearsals lately (our Opening on Thursday). During the 2nd (Friday) of 4 shows I slipped and fell badly and injured my collateral ligament quite bad so I have to stay at home for at least one week and can´t really move at lot. Therefore I was also not able to perform yesterday = Saturday and I won´t be part today which makes me very sad. The next weeks/months/how long it will take I have my focus on recovering and healing – a very hard chapter for me but well, that´s life! We need to learn from our mistakes; it´s part of growing up and rising even brighter after falls) Mummy had to help me a lot to prepare breakfast bc of my knee injury – can’t walk and not able to sit longer than 15 minutes (would collapse if I’d sit longer) – and Applause! She did fine assisting me 😀 and now I can happily present you : my #vegan ALMOND COFFEE PANCAKES ! 😉 turned out very delicious and nourish my soul perfectly to keep my head up and smile all the pain away 😀 Outside the window, I see the sun is shining bright … well! It would be a big lie to say that I wouldn´t want to be outside right now! “Annabelle, this is how you learn from life, so you won´t make the same mistake a 3rd time (had an ankle injury last year – from dancing :P)” said Annabelle to herself this morning.

Finally : Have a nice, sunny and, most of all, healthy Sunday!!! Enjoy every second of life! It´s a big gift:D

You need:

  • 1 cup flour (I use whole grain spelt one; gluten free – buckwheat, brown millet or rice flour are options)
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tbs nut oil
  • 1/4 mashed banana
  • Sweetener (optional)
  • some coffee powder or a coffee pad
  • a few chopped raw choc pieces
  • cinnamon
  • some chai spices to sweeten
  • You can also add a bit vanilla if you like!
  • Oil for the pan (I use coconut oil).
  • For a more CHOCOLATE version (yummm) add also some raw cacao powder!

Heat the milk a little, remove from heat and add the coffee (pad) while waiting for the milk to cool down. Let soak for a few minutes and remove (if you use powder – no heating of the milk! just add to the dough). Mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt) in a bowl, add the now flavored milk, some more coffee powder, cinnamon, nana and oil and stir until well combined! Now you can add the still remaining ingredients to taste. Heat oil in a pan and bake the pancakes on both sides 🙂

For today’s topping we used nana slices, frozen raspberries and mango pieces 😀 and almonds 😀

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

