EDITED: Come on & do it yourself – Almond Milk + What-To-Do with the almond rest

11055954_1570667996552591_1664781854_n

For a long, long time I planned to prepare my own milk 😀 for various reasons!

  1. I like to do and prepare things myself
  2. store-bought milk often contains ingredients that I don´t want to have in my food! It´s hard to find a good one 😛
  3. good, store-bought milk can be quite expensive at times (especially bc I don´t drink cow milk or other from animals any more!!! – NEWS ;):D )
  4. I want unsweetend, natural milk 😀

Finally I did it! Inspired by a lot of people that already tried it 😀 here are the main, very big inspirations I had to prepare my own milk 😀 :

  1. Franziska: To the German speaking peps = check her out!!!! Her blog (https://haveatryblog.wordpress.com/)  is one of the biggest inspirations and motivations I have creating my food 😀 and she has great ideas and recipes :D)
  2. my favorite magazin (Pointe Magazin; it´s a ballet magazine) once shared a recipe in one issue which made think about doing it
  3. Saskia from Naturally Sassy (her book is going to be available in summer!!! can´t wait!!!)
  4. some dancers I know from facebook (Saskia is also one of them and Pointe magazine also wrote about some – actually there´s a connection 😉 ) also prepare their own milk
  5. Mel (http://makelifeyourrunway.kitchensquare.de/) one of my favorite German gals 😀 she also shared her recipe lately

IMG_8088

Now, here´s the recipe :

  • 1 cup almonds, soaked for 8-12 hours
  • 4 cups water
  • a pinch of cinnamon
  • 1-2 tbs agave (optional)
  • you can add vanilla or other spices to flavor

Soak the almonds over night. In the morning, drain and rinse the almonds, place them together with the fresh water in a food processor and add all other ingredients. Blend on a highest speed for around 1-3 minutes until milky. Pour the milk through fine sieve several times. Store the jar with your milk in the refrigerator unless you drink immediately. Shake the jar before using the milk!

The rest of the “meal” in your sieve you can use to prepare a spread, or other things 😀 find inspirations on http://annaentdeckt.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/mandelreste/ (only German speaking). I also share my favorite cookie recipe for using the rest with you below 😉

But first, here are the 3 Top LINKS to my inspirations 😉

  1. https://haveatryblog.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/hafer-und-mandelmilch-selbermachen/
  2. http://www.naturallysassy.co.uk/recipes/almond-milk
  3. http://makelifeyourrunway.kitchensquare.de/2015/04/10/chocolate-semolina-homemade-cinnamon-vanilla-almond-milk/

IMG_8091

I am very satisfied with the result! Anytime I make it it tastes better and better 😀 though, after my very 1st time I wanted to work on the taste 😀


Well, here is a cookie recipe you can try out using the rest of the almond milk making (or you can make the cookies anyway with flour 😉 ) It´s the CHOCOLAT-BANANA OAT COOKIES recipe from @naturallysassy ´s blog 😀

You need :

  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 nanas
  • 4 tbs date syrup (or other natural, liquid sweetener like pure maple, agave or rice syrup)
  • 4 tbs cacao powder
  • 1/3 cup sultanas
  • 3/4 cup almond meal (or brown rice flour or other flour)

Preheat the oven to 180° C. Start by mashing the nanas with a fork in a bowl. Add the syrup, oats, cacao powder, meal/flour and sultanas and mix until smooth and well combined dough. Then, spoon a heaped spoonful of the mixture into your hands, mould into a ball and push to form a thin circle on your baking tray. Make them very flat using a spoon to make sure they get lovely and crisp all the way through (if you like, you can press a nana slice on the top of each)! Place the cookies in the oven and bake for around 15 – 20 minutes or until crispy (make sure they are not burnt)! You can enjoy them dipped in a glass of your homemde almond milk for maximum pleasure.

LINK : http://www.naturallysassy.co.uk/recipes/chocolate-banana-oat-cookies


After making my very first almond milk I prepared a lovely breakfast with it the next day – RASPBERRY ALMOND OATMEAL 😀

You need :

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • Some raspberry pieces
  • mashed nana, cacao powder, carob powder, vanilla, cinnamon, other flavors or fruit mash and more = optional
  • some sweetener of choice if needed (agave)

Mix the oats and liquid together in a sauce pan and heat as usual when you prepare oatmeal. Cook and stir until creamy and start adding the other ingredients. When its ready fill into your favorite dish and top with your favs 😉 for example (frozen) raspberry slices  & almonds 😀

11055450_362665663933359_315830500_n

One thing for sure : I will continue to prepare my own milk again and again in future 😀 as often as possible 😀 and more kinds of diary free milk – oat, rice, cashew, …

59 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

